Carroll the Freemason

Did you know B.H. Carroll (1843-1914), the first president of Southwestern seminary, was also a Freemason? Carroll was a member of Waco Lodge No. 92 and Herring Lodge No. 1224 in Waco, Texas. Carroll wrote a useful commentary on the English Bible thacarrollt still use from time to time and wrote over 20 books. He was also strongly evangelistic supporting home missions and Christian education.

Some quotes from B.H. Carroll:

“Keep the Seminary lashed to the Cross. If heresy ever comes in the teaching, take it to the faculty. If they will not hear you and take prompt action, take it to the trustees of the Seminary. If they will not hear you, take it to the Convention that appoints the Board of Trustees, and if they will not hear you, take it to the great common people of our churches. You will not fail to get a hearing then.” – deathbed commission to Lee Scarborough, his successor as president of Southwest Baptist Theological Seminary.

“These modern devotees of higher criticism must wait each week for the mail from Germany to know what to believe or preach, to find out how much, if any of their Bibles remains.” – Theological Seminaries and Wild Gourds

“The modern cry ‘less creed and more liberty’ is the degeneration from the vertebrate to the jelly fish, and means less unity and less morality, and it means more heresy.” – An Interpretation of the English Bible

“It is a positive and hurtful sin to magnify liberty at the expense of doctrine.” – An Interpretation of the English Bible

Speaking of his false conversion as a child: “I did not believe, in any true sense, in the divinity or vicarious sufferings of Jesus. I had no confidence in professed conversion and regeneration. I had not felt lost, nor did I feel saved. There was no perceptible, radical change in my disposition or affections. What I once loved, I still loved. What I once hated, I still hated.” – My Infidelity and What Became of It

Speaking on the humanistic philosophies he studied before his true conversion: “They were destructive, but not constructive. They overturned and overturned and overturned; but, as my soul liveth, they built up nothing under the whole heaven in the place of what they destroyed. I say nothing. I mean nothing.” – My Infidelity and What Became of It

Yours in the Lord,

jm

5 thoughts on “Carroll the Freemason

    • I don’t believe he ever did Maria and plenty of Baptists and Presby’s have been Freemasons throughout Church history. During the 1830’s it became unpopular and many modern Christians seem to follow Rome’s lead when it comes to Freemasonry. Roman Catholicism hated the Masons because they tended to be Protestant. 🙂 As a Freemason I can tell you nothing nefarious is going on, don’t let Rome trick you into believing that…

      Yours in the Lord,

      jason

      • Jason, thank you for posting this and for your frank admission of being a Freemason. My husband had several family members in Freemasonry, Eastern Star, and Knights of Pythias. His father and he were invited to join but did not. Not because of the Church of Rome’s rejection of Masonry but from studying the subject, we have concerns about it.

        Have you read F. Tupper Saussy’s Rulers Of Evil – Useful Knowledge About Governing Bodies? Saussy, a descendant of Huegonots, researched Catholic involvement in the creation of the U.S. ‘Carroll’ is a famous Maryland Catholic family. A member of the family donated land that is the District of Columbia, I believe, and the young Carroll men were trained in Jesuit schools and colleges. The book is fascinating and wortwhile reading.

        Back to Freemasonry, I do have genuine concerns about it, such as, the taking of oaths.

        Any thoughts?

      • Honestly, the Lodge I’m a member of hasn’t raised any red flags or anything. I do belong to a Prince Hall Lodge (historically a black fraternity) which tends to be little different from the regular ‘white’ mainstream Lodges. I don’t see my oath as a part of a religious obligation and therefore not really an issue. I’ll look into the book you mentioned, I might be able to pick it up through interlibrary loan.

        Yours in the Lord,

        jason

      • Thank you, Jason, for an honest discussion. I think you will find the book truly interesting, except for the very last sentence, which was in fact, a “bummer”.
        As you know from God’s Word and experience, Jesus is Lord!
        Maria

Leave a Reply

