Sacred Harp 230 Converting Grace

(first blogged in 2012)
As pants the hart for cooling streams,
When heated in the chase;
So longs my soul, Oh God, for Thee,
And Thy refreshing grace.
Oh, for converting grace, and oh,
For sanctifying pow’r;
Lord, we ask in Jesus’ name,
A sweet, refreshing show’r.For Thee, my God, the living God,
My thirsty soul doth repine;
Oh, when shall I behold Thy face,
Thy majesty divine?
Why restless, why cast down, my soul?
Hope still; and thou shalt sing
Praise of Him who is thy God,
Thy health’s eternal spring.

5 thoughts on “Sacred Harp 230 Converting Grace

  1. Bro JM

    We still have sacred harp singings in Alabama USA. One can only get the resonance properly, I think, in an older wood- paneled room as the 2nd video you posted shows. Also if the assembly is in a Primitive Baptist church it seems to sound sweeter- but that’s just my bias of course. Some of God’s children have first been introduced to doctrines of grace thru these old songs. Great post.

    • I live way up North and it’s not really something practiced around here. I just pick my banjo and sing from the Sacred Harp or Gadsby’s Hymns.

  2. Very nice. Tim Eriksen rocks, too. Hope you’re doing well, friend.

    This just reminds me that I need to make the effort to attend the monthly Sacred Harp sings in my town. While I’m convinced that God requires the Psalms, and only the Psalms, to be sung in public worship, I can appreciate both the words and the style of singing associated with these old shape note traditions.

    You might find it interesting that I have a Sacred Harp book that belonged to my mother’s uncle (or maybe her great uncle). Every once in a while I’ll break it out.

    -Tyler Ray

    • Hey Br. Tyler Ray, I wish we had Sacred Harp in my area or even just a night of Psalm singing! but we make do. I’m not entirely sold on EP but the arguments are compelling.

    • Hey Br. Tyler Ray, I pray all is well. In my area there are few conservative churches and even fewer Reformed churches but we make do. I’d like to attend a Sacred Harp sing or even a worship service with Psalms only even if I’m not completely sold on EP. Have a good Lord’s Day, – jason

Leave a Reply

