Is “Calvinism” Biblical? (pt 9)

THE BIBLE TEACHES THAT THE GOSPEL IS NOT GIVEN TO ALL: 

We fail to recognize the sinfulness of sin if we believe the Gospel is discerned in the flesh and therefore something we can believe in on our own. The Bible teaches us that sin kills, we are dead in sin, can do nothing to be saved and that the Gospel is hidden from us until revealed to us by God.

At  that time Jesus answered and said, I thank thee, O Father, Lord of  heaven and earth, because thou hast hid these things from the wise and  prudent, and hast revealed them unto babes. Even so, Father: for so it seemed good in thy sight. All  things are delivered unto me of my Father: and no man knoweth the Son,  but the Father; neither knoweth any man the Father, save the Son, and he  to whomsoever the Son will reveal him. (Matt 11:25-27)

And the disciples came, and said unto him, Why speakest thou unto them in parables? He  answered and said unto them, Because it is given unto you to know the  mysteries of the kingdom of heaven, but to them it is not given.

But blessed are your eyes, for they see: and your ears, for they hear. (Matt 13:10-11, 16)

The Arminian free will tradition gives too much credit to man in the flesh. “for flesh and blood hath not revealed it…”

The truth of the Gospel is revealed to us.

He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am? And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God. And  Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for  flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is  in heaven. (Matt16)

And  he said, Unto you it is given to know the mysteries of the kingdom of  God: but to others in parables; that seeing they might not see, and  hearing they might not understand. (Luke 8:10)

In  that hour Jesus rejoiced in spirit, and said, I thank thee, O Father,  Lord of heaven and earth, that thou hast hid these things from the wise  and prudent, and hast revealed them unto babes: even so, Father; for so  it seemed good in thy sight. (Luke 10:21)

The Holy Spirit draws sinners to Christ for salvation.

All that the Father giveth me shall come to me; and him that cometh to me I will in no wise cast out. (John 6)

The biblical quotations above demonstrates how the Holy Spirit gives us hearing, learning and an explanation of the parables. Now we read how “every man” “that hath heard” will be “raised” up for salvation.

No man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him: and I will raise him up at the last day. It  is written in the prophets, And they shall be all taught of God. Every man therefore that hath heard, and hath learned of the Father, cometh  unto me. (John 6)

The Bible teaches that only those given the ability by the Holy Spirit will come to faith in Christ.

But  there are some of you that believe not. For Jesus knew from the  beginning who they were that believed not, and who should betray him. And he said, Therefore said I unto you, that no man can come unto me, except it were given unto him of my Father. (John 6)

God calls His people, not everyone to believe.

To him the porter openeth; and the sheep hear his voice: and he calleth his own sheep by name, and leadeth them out. And when he putteth forth his own sheep, he goeth before them, and the sheep follow him: for they know his voice. And a stranger will they not follow, but will flee from him: for they know not the voice of strangers. This parable spake Jesus unto them: but they understood not what things they were which he spake unto them.  (John 10:3-6)

Speaking to national Israel Christ tells them He has other sheep, Gentile sheep, that He will call. God’s calling under the new covenant of grace is not based along ethnic lines.

And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear  my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd. (John 10)

You cannot believe unless you are one of Christ’s sheep.

But ye believe not, because ye are not of my sheep, as I said unto you. My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand. (John 10)

The Gospel is spiritual. That is why you must be called to believe in Jesus Christ through the Holy Spirit, that is the only way to discern the Gospel.

But  the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they  are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are  spiritually discerned. (1 Cor 2)

Yours in the Lord,

jm

 

Leave a Reply

