Mary Don’t You Weep

The other night I couldn’t sleep so I opened up Songs For Sunday by Patrick Costello and worked my way through. Normally I just play until I get tired and pray sleep follows but this night I got stuck on an interesting Negro Spiritual called, “Oh Mary Don’t You Weep.” This song has been covered by more than a few groups, even being hijacked by the radicals during the 50’s and 60’s. I enjoy it for what it is and share it in hopes you might find the melody and simple faith message a blessing. The Mary in the song is Mary of Bethany the sister of Lazarus. The chorus kind of speaks for itself.

Oh Mary, don’t you weep, don’t you mourn
Oh Mary, don’t you weep, don’t you mourn.

Chorus:
Pharoah’s army got drownded
Oh Mary don’t you weep.

If I could I surely would
Stand on the rock where Moses stood.

Chorus:
Pharoah’s army got drownded
Oh Mary don’t you weep.

Mary wore three links of chain
Every link was Jesus’ name.

Chorus:
Pharoah’s army got drownded
Oh Mary don’t you weep.

One of these nights about 12 o’ clock
This old worlds going to reel and rock.

Chorus:
Pharoah’s army got drownded
Oh Mary don’t you weep.

God told Moses what to do
To lead the Hebrew children through.

Chorus:
Pharoah’s army got drownded
Oh Mary don’t you weep.

Moses stood on the red sea shore
Smotin’ the water with a two by four.

Chorus:
Pharoah’s army got drownded
Oh Mary don’t you weep.

God gave Moses the rainbow sign
No more water, but fire next time.

Chorus:
Pharoah’s army got drownded
Oh Mary don’t you weep.

Mary wore three links of chain
Every link was freedoms name.

Chorus:
Pharoah’s army got drownded
Oh Mary don’t you weep.

The very moment I thought I was lost
The dungeon shook and the chains fell off.

Chorus:
Pharoah’s army got drownded
Oh Mary don’t you weep.

I may be right and I may be wrong
I know you’re gonna miss me when I am gone.

Chorus:
Pharoah’s army got drownded
Oh Mary don’t you weep.

Leave a Reply

