From TABLETALK

coramdeojuly182013

(CLICK IMAGE TO ENLARGE)

5 thoughts on “From TABLETALK

  1. Yikes! So it’s OK to keep an OC form so long as you have a NC heart? Or, rather, it’s OK to keep the Romish graveclothes so long as you have a NC heart when you do it? I say again, Yikes!!!

    • No, not at all. Jeremiah is warning against dead legalism or performing what God requires without any love for God. What God requires in terms of outward religion from His church, in this dispensation (no relation to Dispensationalism), according to His revealed will, is a separate issue.

      At least that’s what I believe I read from this devotional at 5:30am this morning! lol

      I could be wrong and often am.

      Yours in the Lord,

      jason

      • What Jeremiah warns against under the OC is clear. When a modern author refers to “ritual” and “liturgy” my antennae are up. When “Sabbath-keeping”, the “Lord’s Day” and “God-honoring formality” are added to the mix I smell OC form and Romish graveclothes. Perhaps you are too close to the confessional Sabattarians in your local fellowship. Perhaps you are unaware how many professing evangelicals are being drawn back into ritualistic/liturgical denominations in our day.

      • I understand your concern brother, I’m on guard against false form of religion and piety.

        What Jeremiah warns against under the OC is clear. When a modern author refers to “ritual” and “liturgy” my antennae are up.

        When I read it I understood ‘liturgy’ to refer to the order of worship of a religious denomination. I am a little more relaxed on how a local church decides as long as it is with ‘Spirit and Truth’ as Robert posted. When the devotional mentions ‘formality’ I assumed it in reference to regular attendance of worship, Bible reading, praying through a prayer list, etc.

        When “Sabbath-keeping”, the “Lord’s Day” and “God-honoring formality” are added to the mix I smell OC form and Romish graveclothes.

        I can understand how that might seem like the popish religion but the magazine in total would reject that idea. The article accompanying the portion I posted and another article discussion resting in Christ alone and the importance of that. I was given the impression that even Sabbath keeping (if their such a thing existed) could become an idol.

        Perhaps you are too close to the confessional Sabattarians in your local fellowship.

        I can say with confidence that isn’t the case. A few of the members believe the Lord’s Day is a sabbath but most, including the Pastor, would be very lax on this idea. They would set the day aside for attending worship but not insist it is a Sabbath…at least I do not believe this is the stance of the Elders. I’ll double check.

        Perhaps you are unaware how many professing evangelicals are being drawn back into ritualistic/liturgical denominations in our day.

        Well aware of it brother.

        Yours in the Lord,

        jason

      • There can really be no worship of God without “spirit and truth”, and orderly or better ordered worship! I am an evangelical Anglican, but also always a “churchman”! To quote another: “Liturgical celebration implies order if it is to be faithful in proclaiming the unity of celebration. Chaos does not celebrate. Chaos says “no” to God. Likewise, spontaneity that is not grounded in the Incarnate Word is meaningless, for it is through the Word that ordered creation came into being and is redeemed in the fullness of time. Liturgy which does not seek to celebrate the glory and perfection of God is not true celebration.” Indeed the church needs ordered worship, and this always includes ‘Word & Sacrament’! But of course I am a classic Anglican presbyter myself.

Leave a Reply

