Mark up your books!

jgill

 

(notice the coffee stain on the cover)

It should be clear by now I really, really like the theological works of John Gill. I read his works online, at the kitchen table, in the van while waiting for my wifey etc. I read Gill all the time…but I do not idolize him. To study theology is to think of God and His word and as I attempt this task I lean on Gill for help. His comments are almost always useful, experiential and accurate. Back in July of 2011 I was given a beat up copy of Gill’s doctrinal and practical works, I had it rebound and I cherish it. Shortly after I found the first volume of Gill’s work in paperback and thought it was worth the $2 or $3 bucks Gospel Mission was asking for it so I bought it. I use this copy to mark up and make notes in. I take it all over town with me and this practice of writing in the margins and underlying has been very helpful in gaining a good understanding for the Bible with the help of a tried and true Pastor, John Gill.

I guess I’m saying, MARK UP YOUR BOOKS!

johngill

 

2 thoughts on “Mark up your books!

    • …unless you find a copy of one of Spurgeon’s old books? I read somewhere that Dr. Beeke has a few books from Charles Spurgeon’s library and they have notes all through them.

Leave a Reply

