I Wish I Was A Mole In The Ground

Ever feel so bad you wish you were a mole in the ground?

Probably not but you probably have felt pretty low at different times in your life, this song is all about feeling bad, wishing you were nothing but a mole and its country blues at its finest. Its a song about being stuck on the other side of the mountain (If I’s a mole in the ground I’d root that mountain down), a song about lack of money, desertion or the feeling of loneliness (Baby, where you been so long?), jail (I been in the pen with the rough and rowdy men), railing the rails (I don’t like a railroad man…a railroad man they’ll kill you when he can), love (I’d hear my darlin’ sing) and stress (let your hair roll down)…at least to me it does.

My favourite recording was made by Bascom Lamar Lunsford and can be heard here.

Robert Cantwell says, “Listen to ‘I Wish I Was A Mole In The Ground’ again and again, learn to play the banjo and sing it yourself over and over, study every printed version, squander your time in the bargain, and you still won’t fathom it.” I’m trying my best to do just that and I hope to get better as I work through the song and lyrics.

(tuning: D, C, G, C, g / Style: old time thumb lead)

http://2ftlbanjer.wordpress.com/pdf-files/

2 thoughts on “I Wish I Was A Mole In The Ground

Leave a Reply

