Ligeia!

ligeiaOnce a year for the almost 20 years I’ve read Edgar Allan Poe’s classics ‘The Tell Tale Heart,’ ‘Ligeia’ and others during the summer. His poetry interested me in high school but his stories call me back time and time again. For Christmas I was given a copy of Poe’s complete tales, poems and selected writings so I decided to re-read Ligeia a little earlier this year.

Poe describing Ligeia,

“In stature she was tall, somewhat slender, and, in her latter days, even emaciated. I would in vain attempt to portray the majesty, the quiet ease, of her demeanor, or the incomprehensible lightness and elasticity of her footfall. She came and departed as a shadow. I was never made aware of her entrance into my closed study save by the dear music of her low sweet voice, as she placed her marble hand upon my shoulder. In beauty of face no maiden ever equalled her. It was the radiance of an opium-dream — an airy and spirit-lifting vision more wildly divine than the phantasies which hovered vision about the slumbering souls of the daughters of Delos.”

Leave a Reply

