How did Christ appear to me?

Silas Durand explains,silasdurand

“He first appeared to me in the words, “Blessed are they who hunger and thirst after righteousness, for they shall be filled.” Those words came with power, and through them the first hope I ever had was raised up in my soul, and for the first time I was made glad. His next appearance was in a feeling of peace which was given me, when I could not see any reason for it. The Scripture named it to me as, “The peace of God, which passeth all understanding.” My sins seemed to be removed from me; the burden and curse of them were gone.

That same burden has never come back, but O, how often my conscience has been pained by sins since then. The Savior has a few times been felt so powerfully within my heart, so sacredly near to me, and so all-embracing has been my love for him, that I could seem almost to feel him in the arms of my love, and could whisper my love to him, and could feel his answers of love and peace. Such times have been few, and how long it has been now since I have been favored with such a close and dear embrace, when it almost seemed that he did kiss me with the kisses of his mouth, as his precious words were made sweet to my soul; but those sweet seasons can never be forgotten.

O! that I might have them oftener; O! that I might so live in the Spirit, and so walk with God, that his dear presence might be more sensibly felt by my poor soul, from day to day.”  from How do we know Christ?

Leave a Reply

