Mulled Wine

With Christmas around the corner I decided to experiment with a Victorian mulled wine recipe thinking it would be nice for the holidays…not to mention cheap red wine is often given as a gift and this is a great way to enjoy it. After rummaging through the cupboards I realized I didn’t all of the ingredients found in the traditional recipe so I ‘winged’ it and it worked out pretty well.

1 bottle (750mil) bottle of inexpensive Merlot

1 tsp of cinnimon

8 cloves

a dash of orange juice

1/4 cup of sugar

Combine all the ingredients and heat on low for 20 minutes.

The next time I make mulled wine I’ll use real sliced oranges, cut back on the cloves and cinnamon while adding a little ginger. I will also use the slow cooker to heat it up and keep it warm.
jm

 

Leave a Reply

