Fencing the Table

With my recent visits to local churches in my area I’ve had to re-think my position on fencing the table before the Lord’s Supper. I asked brother Ron Wood, “If you are not remembering the same thing in Christ’s death, then you cannot be in one mind about it…should Arminian and Calvinists take part in the Lord’s Supper together?”

His answer, “I do not hold to a closed communion or fencing the table at all. The question for me is ‘are we commanded anywhere in any sense to do so?’ We are not as far I can tell. The only requirement for a thoughtful eating of the bread and drinking of the wine is faith in Christ. 1 Cor.11:28 is very clear that a man ought to examine himself not be examined by others. Neither is baptism ever said to be a requirement for admittance to the Lord’s Table. The only requirement I see is that you know you are a sinner vile and unfit for communion and looking to Christ by faith to make you fit. The table is a picture of faith. We take the body and blood of Christ in symbol and make it a part of us. The elements become one with us and we are nourished by them and live upon them. That is what faith does. It takes the sacrificial death and shed blood of Christ and becomes one with Him in it.” – Ron Wood

I think this is the part of his answer that hit home the most, “The only requirement I see is that you know you are a sinner vile and unfit for communion and looking to Christ by faith to make you fit.” Thank you brother for your answer.

jm

One thought on “Fencing the Table

Leave a Reply

