The Pride of Man

Over the years I have been contacted by people through forums and blogs claiming to be my “brother” in Christ. Normally they start by pretending to have similar beliefs but soon try to exert some sway over what I believe the scriptures to teach. They offer this unsolicited advice from a position of assumed authority. When I reject these generous offers of correction they quickly become hostile and reach the conclusion that, because we disagree, I am probably not a believer at all. If we are “brothers” can’t we just disagree and leave it at that? I willingly admit that I am a sinner, saved by grace and pray for forgiveness and mercy daily. With borrowed words I must declare, “Unless I can be instructed and convinced with evidence from the Holy Scriptures or with open, clear and distinct grounds and reasoning – and my conscience is captive to the Word of. God – then I cannot and will not recant, because it is neither safe nor wise to act against conscience. Here I stand. I can do no other. So help me God.”  (Martin Luther)

Don Fortner’s instruction on pride has been helpful to me in understanding why some believe they should become my “internet pastor” (and why I dislike the idea so much).

Quote,

Of all the evils that reside in and arise from the human heart, pride is the most abominable. Pride is the ugliest monster that dwells in the dark den of our hearts. PRIDE IS THE ROOT OF ALL SIN. It was pride that destroyed Lucifer. Pride led one third of the heavenly angels in rebellion against the throne of God. Pride inspired Adam to steal the fruit of God’s tree. Pride but the curse of God upon man, upon the beasts of the field, and upon the earth which God created. And pride made the first son of Adam a murderer. Compared with pride all the other evil passions of our hearts are easy to control. A man may control his sensual lusts, otherwise all men would be rapists. He may control his covetousness, otherwise all would be thieves and murderers. He may even control his envy, otherwise we would all be at each others throats all the time. But where is the man who can control his pride? There is nothing we detest in others so much as pride. Yet, pride is the most persistent evil of our own hearts. And nothing could be more inconsistent than “the pride of man”.

May God have mercy on me for being a prideful, arrogant and unworthy servant.
jm

 

Leave a Reply

