I’ll Fly Away

“I’ll Fly Away”, is a hymn written in 1929 by Albert E. Brumley and published in 1932 by the Hartford Music company in a collection titled Wonderful Message. Brumley’s writing was influenced in part by an older secular ballad.

“I’ll Fly Away” has been called the most recorded gospel song,[1][2] and it is frequently used in worship services by Baptists, Pentecostals, Nazarenes, the Churches of Christ and many Methodists. It appears in many hymnals where it is listed under the topics of eternal life, heaven and acceptance. It is a standard song at bluegrass jam sessions and is often performed at funerals. – Wiki

Here are the lyrics:

1.
Some glad morning when this life is o’er,
I’ll fly away;
To a home on God’s celestial shore,
I’ll fly away (I’ll fly away).

Chorus
I’ll fly away, Oh Glory
I’ll fly away; (in the morning)
When I die, Hallelujah, by and by,
I’ll fly away (I’ll fly away).

2.
When the shadows of this life have gone,
I’ll fly away;
Like a bird from prison bars has flown,
I’ll fly away (I’ll fly away)

Chorus

3.
Just a few more weary days and then,
I’ll fly away;
To a land where joy shall never end,
I’ll fly away (I’ll fly away)

2 thoughts on “I’ll Fly Away

  1. Good stuff…

    I’m working on the first part, but it doesn’t sound as good as when you play it. I made a mistake and unthinkingly clipped my finger nails (really short), so I’m not playing much right now.

    • Good to hear you are still at it. If you remain dedicated to practice you’ll have it in no time.

      Which finger are you using? I started with the middle but after about a year I started using my index. If you clipped your nail short use a finger pick turned backwards to cover the nail like this: http://oldbanjo.wordpress.com/

      As you can see from the pick my nails are supper short but still work. Others have suggested using a little tape to cover the nail.

      Peace.

      j

Leave a Reply

