Everything in Context

Ron Wood wrote,

Having been through many trials I have learned that most of them are to wean you away from this world. Being in construction for most of my life I went from feast to famine quite often. I have found through much experience that things are never as bad as you think or imagine they are. I have come through each difficulty stronger and more prepared than I was before. It taught me to be more frugal when I had money and now I live without any real debt but my home and my wife and I are comfortable on the meager incomes that we have. We no longer seek the things of this world because there isn’t any of it that lasts. Nothing of this world will last but is destined to be burned. Whatever you hold too tightly of this world God will take from you if you are His. Whether it is your job, your home, your wife or children even He will take if you put them ahead of Him. He will wean you from desiring this world and whatever it has that holds you.

No relationship, whether it be with our wives and children, father and mother, brothers and sisters is lasting if it isn’t a spiritual relationship in Christ. Our wives, children, fathers, mothers, brothers and sisters will all be separated from us in the everlasting destruction of damnation unless we are united to them in Christ.

Don’t be too shaken by your situation in this world. If you are His He knows all you need and provides it with love and grace. The only thing that lasts is that which cannot be shaken.

Whose voice then shook the earth: but now he hath promised, saying, Yet once more I shake not the earth only, but also heaven. And this word, Yet once more, signifieth the removing of those things that are shaken, as of things that are made, that those things which cannot be shaken may remain. Wherefore we receiving a kingdom which cannot be moved, let us have grace, whereby we may serve God acceptably with reverence and godly fear: (Heb 12:26-28)

 

Leave a Reply

