Gadsby’s Hymns [again]

I just Gadsby’s collection of Christian verse!  During yesterday’s reading I found a little gem about doctrine touching the heart, you can download this little volume from the Gospel Standards website

#169                    C.M. [think Amazing Grace]

by    J. Berridge

Desiring to know Christ crucified. 1 Cor. 2. 2

1    Some wise men of opinions boast,

And sleep on doctrines sound;

But, Lord, let not my soul be lost

On such enchanted ground.

2    [Good doctrines can do me no good,

While floating in the brain;

Unless they yield my heart some food,

They bring no real gain.]

3    O may my single aim be now

To live on him that died;

And nought on earth desire to know,

But Jesus crucified!

4    [Disputings only gender strife,

And gall a tender mind;

But godliness, in all its life,

At Jesus’ cross we find.]

5    Lord, let thy wondrous cross employ

My musings all day long,

Till, in the realms of purest joy,

I make it all my song.

3 thoughts on “Gadsby’s Hymns [again]

  1. What did you download, their software that contains the entire hymnal with a searchable database? I have had this since they came out with it, and have found it easy to use, and great resource. It is nice to be able to cut and paste selections for printing, or to include in sermons. My friends and I have been influencing folks for years to get this hymnal, and to learn it by working their way through it in their devotions. From time to time I have folks coming to me asking if we can sing a selection from Gadsby that they came across in their devotions and were delighted with. There are only a few where there is any difficulty matching familiar tunes with the meter, and I have “The Companion Tune Book” to use in a pinch. The “Memoirs of Hymn-Writers and Compilers” is a nice addition as well. Good stuff! Anyone who doesn’t have it – Try it! You’ll like it!

  2. I am not sure why yet, but for some reason the link above to the “Gospel Standard website” downloads page yields an error message requiring you to go to their home page first – “Page not found. Page was not found. Click here to go back to the home page.” Your link looks to be accurate, i.e., identical to the page you get to by going to their home page and clicking on the “Downloads” link, but seems for some reason not to work for me using Google Chrome. Maybe you can figure this out, but I thought that I should bring it to your attention.

Leave a Reply

