Lentil Salad

Lentils are a very inexpensive and versatile “pulse” and I love the almost meaty taste. The other night I wanted to make a lentil salad so I googled recipes and found two for lentil salads that looked and sounded tasty, the problem was, I didn’t have all the ingredients for either one. Instead of following the recipe as laid out online I decided to use it as inspiration and here’s what I came up with.

lentilsIngredients:

4 cups of cooked green lentils
½ yellow onion diced
1 can of diced tomato (drained)
½ green pepper chopped
3 tablespoons of parsley
½ teaspoon cayenne pepper
½ teaspoon of cumin/cummin (crushed)
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of pepper
2 tablespoons of lemon juice

I mixed the diced onion, tomato, green pepper, cayenne and cumin seeds together. When the lentils were cool I added them to the mixing bowl and then added the salt, pepper and lemon juice.  After the salad has been chilled it’s ready to serve.

It tastes great!

(Lentils are hard to mess up.)

It’s very aromatic and flavourful dish.

jm

Leave a Reply

