Sacred Harp 230 Converting Grace

As pants the hart for cooling streams,
When heated in the chase;
So longs my soul, Oh God, for Thee,
And Thy refreshing grace.
Oh, for converting grace, and oh,
For sanctifying pow’r;
Lord, we ask in Jesus’ name,
A sweet, refreshing show’r.

For Thee, my God, the living God,
My thirsty soul doth repine;
Oh, when shall I behold Thy face,
Thy majesty divine?
Why restless, why cast down, my soul?
Hope still; and thou shalt sing
Praise of Him who is thy God,
Thy health’s eternal spring.

Tags: , ,

About jm

http://feileadhmor.wordpress.com/ http://www.youtube.com/user/oldsoulify?feature=mhw4 http://www.youtube.com/user/JayBirdsBanjo?feature=mhum

2 responses to “Sacred Harp 230 Converting Grace”

  1. Neil Honea says :

    Bro JM

    We still have sacred harp singings in Alabama USA. One can only get the resonance properly, I think, in an older wood- paneled room as the 2nd video you posted shows. Also if the assembly is in a Primitive Baptist church it seems to sound sweeter- but that’s just my bias of course. Some of God’s children have first been introduced to doctrines of grace thru these old songs. Great post.

    • jm says :

      I live way up North and it’s not really something practiced around here. I just pick my banjo and sing from the Sacred Harp or Gadsby’s Hymns.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

